December 11, 2016

@ The Promontory (5311 S Lake Park, Chicago)

3pm Val-Inc Afro-Electronica
4pm Jovia Armstrong/Coco Elysses Collective
5pm Renee Baker’s Katasha

  • 3pm Val-Inc Afro-Electronica

    The granddaughter of a Mambo (Vodou priestess), she has created a distinctive style of music called Vodou electronica which she also refers to as Afro Electronica. Her music weaves in electronica and Haitian and African Vodou rhythms. She has performed at the Whitney Museum and the Museum of Modern Art, and internationally at music festivals in Austria and Switzerland. In the documentary film The United States of Hoodoo, she speaks about the relationship between sound and spirituality.Growing up in Fontamara, Haiti, Val Jeanty attended Sacré Cœur which she describes as "a prestigious [C]atholic school, in a ritzy-bourgeois area" with strict rules. On her music, Jeanty says: "I use these electronic tools, but the music is spiritual—something you might hear at church, or in any other religious ceremony. It’s the kind of sound that gives your spirit freedom to roam. The sound is definitely on a frequency people are not used to hearing. But it speaks to them. It takes them to another sphere."
  • 4pm Jovia Armstrong/Coco Elysses Collective

    Percussionists Coco Elysses and JoVia Armstrong join musical forces on stage to create unique textures of sound. Percussion, trumpet, guitar and vibraphone will be accompanied by the use of an electronic sound generator, JoVia's and Coco's compositions changes randomly in real-time.
  • 5pm Renee Baker's Katasha

    Natasha presents Collision: Suite for Souls Who Choose to Inhabit

    Renee' Baker, Conductor/Composer


    I will not die an unlived life. I will not live in fear of falling or catching fire. I choose to inhabit my days, to allow my living to open me, to make me less afraid, more accessible, to loosen my heart until it becomes a wing, a torch, a promise. I choose to risk my significance; to live so that which came to me as a seed goes to the next as a blossom and that which came to me as a blossom, goes on as fruit. Dawna Markova, Ph.D

    Renee Baker, music director/composer CMOP/KATASHA ENSEMBLE

    Louis Gdalman: sax, clarinet

    Ben La Mar: trumpet, electronics

    Greg Blackburn: flute

    Elizabeth Diaz: flute

    Dan Godston: trumpet

    Jayve Montgomery: projections, reeds

    Alex Wing: piano, guitar

    Robert Fisher: viola

    Todd Matthews: violin

    Melanie Serapa: voice, violin

    Karl EH Siegfried: bass

    Bruce Nelson: vibes, percussion, timpani

    Dan Won: clarinet

    Steve Berry: trombone

    Tomasso Moretti: drums